Monster Mash 1st Birthday Party

For my youngest girls 1st birthday I ummmed and ahhed about what to do. Pink princess?  Pony queen? Rainbow rave? It had to be good, it had to be bright and a real celebration! The first year of Miss 1’s life has been difficult and challenging with her health, sleep problems and HUGE personality (which can be difficult to navigate at times). After much toooing and frooing, we settled on a Monster Mash theme – because it suits her perfectly! Our little Miss 1 is a Monster in the best sense of the world! She makes all sorts of grunts and groans, squeals and sounds, has no fear, and approaches everything in her life with a ferocious attitude! The perfect Monster!

A gorgeous day was has by all! A simple party at home celebrating with friends and family.  I have attached some pictures for you to see!

 

A box card invite full of monster goodness! These were a hit, with everyone saying how much they enjoyed them!

A box card invite full of monster goodness! These were a hit, with everyone saying how much they enjoyed them!

These invites took me sooo long to make, but were so worth the effort! Thanks to my trusty Silhouette Cameo, glue stick and patience they came out looking so good!  They fold flat, so fit inside the envelope, and when they were received, they folded them, out popped the flaps, and the monster’s took center stage!

 

a close up of the monster goodness inside!

a close up of the monster goodness inside!

 

IMG-1399939208646-V

Some  bunting I made – again with the Silhouette Cameo!

20140509_145721

A rosette/pinwheel I made to hang on the wall. I only ended up making one and surrounding it with tissue paper pom poms as it was more effort than paid off – it looked good, but not that good!

20140522_102629 copy

20140522_104912

The favour table! Underneth is little paper bags that I stamped with Monsters. They each had some goodies in it, and each kid got to pick a Monster to Adopt!  The frame took so long to make – and I stuck my fingers together so many times! Trusty hot glue gun!

DSC_0161

DSC_0164

DSC_0165

Some photos of the lolly table above!  This was so much fun to put together, and I loved seeing all the little kids faces as they raced to the table (of course) and seeing the Monster Eyes at their level! Squeals of delight were well received!

DSC_0169

Close up of the Monster Lolly Jars!

DSC_0166

DSC_0167

DSC_0178

The food table – the kids had to eat here before they could go to the lolly table, much to the older kids disgust!

_DSC0185

A beautiful close friend of mine made this gorgeous cake for Miss 1. Inside, it had balls of different colours and tastes! Its the only time I have had a birthday cake be eaten completely!!!

20140522_104818

Her outfit for the day! Can you believe I didn’t get a photo of her all dressed up?@! Clearly I am not a professional photographer either!

_DSC0201

Miss 1 enjoying her special little birthday cake!  She can’t eat Gluten, so we made her some special cupcakes so she could dig in with everyone else!

cake smash_ (44 of 47)

Her cake smash!! We had this done two weeks before her birthday and just love the results! Some beautiful pictures to treasure forever!

Cake smash

All three of my gorgeous girls!

4 comments

  1. Would you be able to share where you got the monsters for the invitation? Thank you

    1. Hi – I got the monsters from the Silhouette Online Design Store and used my Silhouette to customise them a little, cut them out and then stuck on the googly eye! Hope this helps!

      1. I tried the silhouette store but somehow I can not find it if I search “monster”. Thank you very much for the help. 😊

Leave a Reply

