Our first foray at the snow!

I am a woman who loves warm weather!  I shudder at the thought of the cold and wet unless I am sitting inside with a hot cup of coffee and looking out on the weather – not experiencing it.  So when HH decided that we should take the girls to the snow this year for the first time, my reaction was not one of joy and happiness to say the least!

Lake Mountain

Miss 6 and Miss 3 at Lake Mountain

Slowly I came around to the idea and decided that I should really give it a try. My only memory of the snow is from when i was about 10 years of age. My parents took me and I remember been so cold and wet and just wanting to go home.  With that in mind I set out to buy my girls (and myself) the warmest snow clothes I could find!  I discovered that anything to do with snow is sooo very expensive here in Australia.  Luckily, my parents are living in the USA and they are finished their winter, so all their snow gear was on sale!  So late at night HH and I had a mad shopping frenzy online and purchased all the gear we thought we could possibly need!  We bought jackets, pants, thermals, special socks, boots, neck gaiters (had no idea what they were!), gloves, mittens, beanies and scarves!

When I told my beautiful friend, Bel, she laughed so hard at me.  I couldn’t for the life of me figure out why she was laughing.  Apparently, the snow can be quite warm and she thinks the girls are going to overheat!  Who would have thought?!

Since our snow trip is booked in July at Mt Buller (thick of Winter here in Australia) we thought we would do a “test run” first at a resort closer to home for the day. So on opening weekend, we packed up the kids, all the gear and headed to Lake Mountain for the family day.  The sun was shining, it was a glorious day and all the snow was man made – so it was very neat, only in sections, and not enough to make you feel cold! Needless to say most of our gear stayed in the car!

Racing down the mountain

Racing down the mountain

Miss 3 surprised us all!  She has never really liked having her face painted, and when she has had it done in the past, has only had a small motif on her cheek. But on this day she decided to be Spiderman for the day and had her full face painted! On the up side, the girls had an absolute ball! They loved tabogganing, loved the snow and can’t wait for Mt Buller!  We found out that the mittens are not quite waterproof and that I am not quite as flexible as I was once upon a time!

Race time!

Race time!

Leave a Reply

