Bottle wrapped in wool – beautiful!

Bottle wrapped in wool

Bottle wrapped in wool – finally something funky to do with all my leftovers (bottles that is!)

I came across some beautiful images on Pinterest of wine bottles, of all different shapes and sizes,  wrapped in wool (or yarn as the american’s seem to say!).  I then found the post from Craft Ideas (where the picture above is from) and decided to give it a go!  Finally something attractive to do with all the empty bottles that seem to build up after a weekend!

I surfed the net for awhile to see if there were any tips or tricks to doing this – there didn’t seem to be – and figured it was going to be a case of trial and error. I picked a day when both the girls are at school and childcare, as I figured it would take awhile – and it did – over 2.5 hours!!

Ready, set, WRAP!

Ready, set, WRAP!

So, I sat down with my Mod Podge, a paint brush, an empty wine bottle and some wool.

I tired starting at the bottom, but this just didn’t work for me. The wool kept slipping, going wonky, coming apart and making me so frustrated.  Before giving up, I thought i would start at the top – and that worked MUCH better.  It was quite tricky getting it to wrap tightly and stay in place right at the top (around the lip of the bottle) but with some patience, and about 20 minutes spent holding the wool in place whilst the Mod Podge dried it worked.  I would then paint about an inch thick circle of Mod Podge, and then wrap the wool around tightly.  I didn’t want to have to go back and do another wrap around with the wool, so I made sure that the layers were pushed tightly together.

2.5 hours later and I had one finished bottle!! It looks stunning (need to brush up on my photography skills as the photo doesn’t do the bottle justice!)  In the pic you can see the top is still white – I put a thick coat of Mod Podge over the top to ensure the ends stayed in place. It has dried completely clear and I have had so many comments so far!

Finished product!

Finished product!

Leave a Reply

