TEOTWAWKI Blog: DIY Survival Candles

I am all about candles at the moment!  I did a Soy Candle Making Class with my beautiful girlfriend Belinda, and since then, have been melting up a storm!  It is so easy, and so cheap.  This surprised me – I always have candles burning at home, or scented melts, and I know that I have never bought the Soy Candles because they are just so expensive. But to make, they are so cheap!  As a mum, the other bonus feature of Soy Candles is that they burn at a lower tempreture, and so it is very difficult for little ones to get burnt should they somehow acidently get in touch with the melted wax.

Miss 6 and I plan to make a whole lot of candles for gifts this year at Christmas. We haven been saving all our empty jars, cleaning the labels off and storing them, ready to decorate them when the time comes! I came across an amazing post on TEOTWAWKI Blog – a really simple, photo illustrated step by step guide to making your own ‘survival’ candles.  A must read for anyone who has thought about doing this themselves. TEOTWAWKI Blog: DIY Survival Candles.

If you like Candles too, check out my Pintrest Board. If your not on Pinterest, comment ‘add me’ below with your email address and I will send you an invitation!  But be warned, it’s addictive!

3 comments

  1. Have you ever heard of Scentsy Wickless Candles? If not you should definitely check them out, if you love candles you will love Scentsy! They are wickless candles, soot free, flame free, SAFE, and last a long time (and in the long run are cheaper than regular candles.) What it is: a ceramic warmer (you can chose from a ton of different sizes and designs) that has a light bulb in it that heats up the cubes of wax you set on the top in a ceramic dish, each little cube lasts up to 80 hours, and if you want to switch out the scent before the 80 hours you can reuse it by just putting it back in the original packaging and it will harden and can be easily reused! You can check them out by going here if interested: http://www.MelanieGordon.Scentsy.us :] Let me know what you think!

    -Melanie Gordon
    Independent Scentsy Consultant
    http://www.MelanieGordon.Scentsy.us
    Luv4Wickless@gmail.com

    1. Thanks! I will check them out now! I do love anything that is going to make my house smell nice – and get rid of the “kid smell” if even for a short time!!

      1. You will love them :] over 80 scents to choose from! and very safe compared to regular candles
        http://www.MelanieGordon.Scentsy.us

Leave a Reply

